My Village diary-6: I called my sister to reload my internet connection

June 2, 2011

Cellphones communication in a remote village in south eastern Kenya -6

Last night I ran out of “credit” for internet connection. The shops here in the village were already closed.  I called my sister in Nairobi and asked her to sambasa (slang for share) some of her credit  to my cellphone. Within minutes I received a text message from the cellphone service provider – safaricom-informing me that I had received credit worth 250 shillings. I then text the word “activate” to 442. I received another text message informing me that I had purchased 80 megabites of internet connection. (250 shillings is worth 40 megabites. But the company is currently promoting special offers – double the no. of megabites purchased.)

The entire transaction lasted less than ten minutes, via cellphone. I was back on the net, checked emails and blogged about “my village diary”….

Leave a Reply

